Paul Nickerson

Plants Hate Vacation

In Potting on November 23, 2010 at 4:52 pm

I have just finished loading my luggage into my truck, and am anxiously awaiting the moment when I can leave school! With all the preparations that go into returning home for the week, my plants brought about the most stress. I was frustrated that the very things that brought so much peace and joy into my life could bring out such un-writable words.

Aside from tracking down a place for my Aquaponics system, which, thanks to the Biology Department, is happily spending vacation in the greenhouse, I was worried about the rest of my plants that would be sitting in my dark dorm room. Fortunately, I was eased with the fact that I had prepared for this moments.

As I have explained, succulents are wonderful dorm plants. Because of their ability to adapt to changes in their watering schedule, you can slowly alter each of their water cycles so that they align with one another. I typically do this with every new plant, removing the burden of having to keep track of countless different watering schedules.

Because of the adaptability of succulents, you can give them a fairly heavy watering right before you leave for break, and they should be fine for one to two weeks.

As for your water-loving plants, such as my Red-Splash, VFT, and Mimosa, you will either have to find a plant-sitter, take your plants with you over vacation, or invest in a water-bulb. (The little ones work wonderfully for most smaller dorm plants)

As far as light it concerned, contact your RD, and ask them if they would be so kind as to leave the window-blinds open when they do rounds. Usually after a small amount of begging and bribing, they are more than happy to help you out. If you have blinds like those in my room, which do not actually go up and down, it will be necessary to find out what position allowed the most light to reach your plants.

If you plan ahead, you should be able to peacefully enjoy your vacation, and return to a room of healthy plants.

  1. ask any parent about the peace, joy and un-writable words

Leave a Reply

