Paul Nickerson

Light Bulb Terrariums

In Potting on March 21, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Light Bulb Terrarium

Terrariums are a unique way to display plants in a way that captivates imagination and creativity. When designing and constructing a terrarium, one can create their own world full of colorful foliage. Designs can range from miniature rain forests to open meadows of moss. While many terrariums are created inside larger glass-ware, I want to take some time to show an interesting project I recently undertook.

Copper Tab Removal

When hollowing out a light bulb, it is important to wear protective gloves and eye protection. For this project, I selected a slightly large bulb, as it would give me more area to work with. Also, I was able to find a beautiful, clear bulb. If you are using a bulb that has a white powdered coating on the inside of the glass, you will need to clean it by pouring salt into the bulb and shaking it around.

Bulb Without Tab

To begin the process of hollowing the bulb, hold the bulb, upside down, firmly in one hand. With a pair of needle-nose pliers, remove the copper tag on the nose of the bulb. This should easily break free, leaving a small hole in the ceramic collar. With a small screw driver, or other pointed object, break away the collar. This can be removed in several pieces.

If the inner glass tubes did not break during the removal of the collar, it can be broken apart by inserting a screw driver into the bulb and moving it around. Carefully remove the glass pieces and wash out the bulb. Your terrarium is ready to set up.

Plants Inside Bulb

To balance my bulb, I placed a small amount of stones in the bottom of the bulb and positioned it to where I desired. I then funneled a small amount of succulent potting soil into the bulb. To position my plants I used bent wires as tools to manipulate the soil. It is important to research the plants you are putting in your terrarium to ensure that your desired plants are compatible. I will talk more about selecting plants and setting up larger terrariums in my next post.

Leave a Reply

