Paul Nickerson

Arborvitae Air Layer Update!

In Gardening, Propagation on November 27, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Sorry about the quality, Taken on Phone. These are pictures of the Arborvitae I air layered a few months back. (Check Out How!) As you can see, this method worked wonderfully. Of the seven layers I made on the tree, six produced wonderful specimens with great roots systems. The one that did not develop roots was the one that I checked a little while back. It had a couple small roots when I checked on it. I am guessing I didn’t close it back up tightly enough as there were two large ants inside of the layer when I attempted to remove it from the tree. I planted these trees in the same nursery field as my Rhods. Hopefully they will be able to set good roots before the cold, New England winter sets in.

Leave a Reply

